top of page

Chill Friday

Today went by so fast! In the morning, the Promethean Board was not working, so that was fun trying to keep a typical morning with this added technical difficulty! The students usually use the board for their lunch count, but today I had to note it down on paper. Which really isn't that bad but there's always the chance of students not listening and missing their lunch order! For math today, I was a bit more strict on the talking. I told the students that if I heard talking during my instruction, that person would lose a Dojo point. Five students lost a point! I was worried that I was being too strict on the students, but I know it's what I have to do sometimes. Mrs. Palmer keeps telling me, "The students will love you no matter what." Which I hope is true! During specials, Dr. Moore (one of my favorite professors) came in to talk to Mrs. Palmer about KTEC clinical placements. It was so nice to see her even if it was only for about an hour!

Overall today was pretty laid back, which is how most of our Fridays are! My two fun things of the day included a student farting (and everyone, even Mrs. Palmer and myself) laughing at it, we couldn't help it because all the students were laughing! Also, the students were working with paint today in art class, and there was paint all over their hands and some on their clothes. One student even ran into another (with his project in hand) on accident and got paint in her hair. So I had to help her wash it out! When the students work with paint in art it takes away from instructional/personal reading time in the class because they all go wash their hands (and take forever). The afternoon as a whole was pretty chill, the students worked on their 100 day packet and some spelling word activities. They also had free time where they get about 20 minutes to just hang out and do whatever they want (within reason) in the classroom.

Like I said, pretty chill Friday! My management skills are slowly getting better, and I am starting to implement my own classroom techniques. Today I created a "Who's Out?" chart where the students have to put their name under where they are (bathroom, library, getting a drink). This will help me keep track of the students and where they are! I hope the students catch on to it easily! Next week I should be starting to teach literacy. I'm slowly taking over, and I am so excited!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page