top of page

Day 2!

Today was my second day! It was much better than day 1 :) I felt a lot more confident walking into the school and interacting with the students. In the morning, the students had standardized testing. So, I just hung out for a few hours while they were taking it. After testing, they went to Elective 1, and I had a meeting with the team. When they got back, we had Block 4, which is Social Studies. For this class, I didn't have to pull out any students, I just circulated and assisted those who needed it. In this class there is another Carthage student teacher, so it is kind of nice having so many teachers in one room. Mrs. V was helping someone write their paper, so it was just me and the two SS teachers in the room. It's day 2 and I'm already feeling confident independently!

For English next week, the students are going to be reading a book, which I will have to read too. I didn't think about actually having to do assignments or read their books! But I guess that's the only way I would be any help! I wonder what else I will have to do this semester, I'll probably have to brush up on my math skills depending on what they are learning! 8th grade math is much different than 2nd grade.... I left my 2nd grade class just teaching them how to properly use a ruler, I bet my 8th grade curriculum is a bit harder than that!

At the end of the day the students had free time in the gym, and I met the Mahone track coach! Starting next week I will be helping out with coaching the team! I'm so excited! I'll probably mainly do high jump, but I said I'll coach wherever's needed! Since I already basically work out on my own for Carthage since my schedule is so full, this works out fine! Apparently there are about 200 students signed up... so It'll definitely be a full house!

Overall, I'm glad I feel more comfortable in this setting than yesterday, and I'm excited for the weeks to come! Tomorrow's another day of testing... so I'll be working on those job applications!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page