top of page

It's Friday!

Happy Friday! Friday's are always nice because they are different than the regular curriculum. The students get out at 2pm, and we don't do Literacy centers or Social Studies. As usual, we started our day off with math. We officially moved on from counting money, and are telling time now! To introduce the new concept, the students were only learning the zeros and 30s. This makes it easier because the concept of half/whole is an easy starting point. Many of my students worked ahead on this and finished quickly. I'm happy this is an easy concept for many of them!

While the students were at art, second and third grade (teachers) had a "catch up" meeting with the Vice Principal. We just talked about how everything was going and what could improve. It was nice to catch up with everyone and hear different perspectives on the school! After my students were done at art class, we had a bit of "tech time" where the students worked on IXL math so they can practice counting money and telling time. IXL is a very cool program where the students can track their progress on the different standards and can earn virtual prizes for achievements they can get. It is very individualized so each student is challenged at their level, which is awesome!

Since today is Friday, the students had about 20 minutes of free time. This allows them to just chill and do whatever they want for that time. All of my students earned free time this week, yay! The students are only allowed to have free time if they receive an 80% or higher percentage on Dojo (how well they did throughout the week). One of my students colored a pretty picture for me, and I hung it right on my bulletin board with the rest of the drawings/notes I have received!

Since this week was Jump Rope for Heart, the students had a "Pie in the Face" celebration. Students who raised a certain amount of money for the organization got to throw whipped cream in the gym teacher's face this afternoon. The students always get a kick out of it!

To end the day, the students were working on their writing assignments. We are having the students write the steps down for any topic they want, then we have to check it for fluency and accuracy. One of my students wrote on "How to get out of things you don't like." I attached the worksheet because this student's steps were just too funny! Mrs. Palmer and I both laughed at the topic and the steps, but how they ruined their secret of procrastinating!

Overall, today was a good day! Up until yesterday, I was starting to feel burnt out. The field trip was a nice break for sure!

I know I am probably procrastinating my edTPA too much, but I will get to it this weekend for sure! Fridays keep coming faster and faster, and I am getting sad that this quarter is going by too quickly. I am definitely enjoying everything day by day, and am not looking too forward to things in the future. I need to enjoy everything that's going on now! I definitely don't want to leave these students, I will miss them so much!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page